Using tablets for latent tracing/documentation

Welcome to the public CLPEX.com Message Board for Latent Print Examiners. Feel free to share information at will.

Using tablets for latent tracing/documentation

Postby jchooper » Mon Apr 30, 2012 3:14 pm

Has anyone had good experiences using a tablet, such as Bamboo or Cintiq, for tracing latent prints ?
jchooper

Re: Using tablets for latent tracing/documentation

Postby akstephen » Wed May 02, 2012 2:25 pm

We have the Bamboo tablets in our lab. They do make it easier to trace ridge detail. Not perfect by any stretch, but my easier than the mouse.
akstephen

Postby josher89 » Wed May 02, 2012 3:29 pm

I've been using the Bamboo for about three years now...once you get used to it, it works really well. Much better than the mouse, that's for sure! There are several settings you may want to tweak if you are using it; the main one being the Pen Mode option. Use this to mask your screen rather than willy nilly. It will make tracing that much better.
"It is possible to reconstruct a fingerprint with positive accuracy from a verbal description received by telephone or telegraph."
--E.K. Thode, chief of the National Division of Identification and Information, circa 1930
josher89

Postby Steve Everist » Wed May 02, 2012 7:23 pm

Just out of curiosity - do you trace latents for AFIS entry only, or is there another reason?

We've been out of the practice of tracing since moving from NEC to Morphotrak, but I didn't see it as something that was done so often and was so cumbersome that I'd have to get a tablet to do it.